Home > District > Mayiladuthurai Taluk
The Tehsildar
Taluk Office
94450 00620
District Collectorate

TourismBoat on Fishing Plays a Key Economy for the District even though Agriculture and Fishing are the Major ones. Shrines, Places of Hindu Faith, Mosques forms the Spritual Tourism for the district. Annual Festivals and functions marks glory of the Year. Heritages like Tarangam  

Fishing,Catched Fishes along with Para marine activities like Dry fish ,Prawn farming constitues the second Major economy for the district. The marine ecosystem provides mankind with food, medicines, industrial products and pleasure.  

Singara Vaelavar Temple, Sikkal It is one of the most important seats of Sakthi. The temple, Lord Siva had annihilated Yama, the God of death and destruction to save the life of Markandeya and bestowed immortality on him.Inside the precincts of the temple of Arulmigu Amerthakadeswarar is located the temple of Shri Abirami Amman Temple.  

Danish Fort This was the only busy trade centre on the Coromandal coast for the Danes.This fort was declared as a protected monument by the Department of Archaeology, Government of Tamilnadu in 1977 ADThe Danes constructed fortifications on the coast at Tranquebar. This fort was a busy trade centre till 1845 AD when the Danes handed over the fort to the English. It was used as a Public Works Department Travellers Bungalow for government servants and colonials till 1977 AD.  

Mayiladuthurai Taluk

place, temples around

MayiladuthuraiTemple, Mayiladuthurai taluk is well known taluk in Nagapattinam District. It lies to the North of Tranqubar, South & West of Sirkali and East of Thiruvidaimaruthur taluks. Up to 12th Century the name of the Taluk is Mayiladuthurai. Then the name obscure as Mayuram around 1948. From 1982, once again the Old traditional name Mayiladuthurai came into existence. The Geographical Area of the taluk is around 34995 Hect. and the total Population is around 3,65,543. Mayiladuthurai taluk office is situated in the heart of the town.


Tahsildar is the head of the office and assisted by one HQDT and two Zonal Deputy Tahsildars. There are 123 Villages and 6 Firkas in this taluk. Tahsildar is the Taluk Magistrate and he is maintaining law and order in the taluk with the help of the VAOs, the Firka Revenue Inspectors and Police Officers. Tahsildar and the revenue officials plays an important role during extraordinary situations i.e. during flood and drought.

It Block Office, Mayiladuthurai renders undeterred service to the people to elevates their stress and strains. The main work is to issue Legal heirs, Income and Community Certificates to the public. Every year we have been fixed a target to acquire land and issue free pattas to landless poor (Land Revenue, which is the main source of the Govt. has been collected by the VAOs) for each Fasli. The local administration is split up into two Panchayat Union i.e. Mayiladuthurai and Kuttalam. The main occupation of the people is agriculture. There are two Saiva Mutts (Dharumapuram Adhinam and Thiruvaduthurai Adhinam) in this taluk. About one fourth of the total lands are belonged to this mutt. Dharumpuram mutt is famous for its Saiva Siddantha and educational service.


There are five colleges and more than 250 schools in this Taluk. Every year THULA Festival is celebrated in Mayiladuthurai. Some of the importance places in Mayiladuthurai Taluk are Kambar Medu in Therizhandur, Thirumanancheri and Thiruvalangadu. There are many temples in Mayiladuthurai Taluk. Some of them are Mayuranathar temple, Dhakshinamoorthy temple, PrimalaRenganathar temple, Durga Temple, Vazhuvoor Veeratteswarar Temple.

Total Area 34,995Hect.
Total Population 3,65,543
Panchayat Union(s)
  1. Mayiladuthurai
  2. Kuttalam
  1. Mayiladuthurai
  2. Sirkazhi
Town Panchayat(s)
  1. Manalmedu
  2. Kuttalam
  1. Mayiladuthurai [54]
  2. Kuttalam [44]
Revenue Village(s) 116
V.A.O. 115
Revenue Firka(s)
  1. Mayiladuthurai
  2. Manalmedu
  3. Pattavarthi
  4. Kuttalam
  5. Manganallur
  6. Palayur
Assembly Constituencis
  1. Mayiladuthurai [171]
  2. Kuttalam [172]
Parlimentary Constituencies Mayiladuthurai [29]
  1. A.V.C. Arts College
  2. A.V.C. Engineering & A.V.C. Polytechnic
  3. Dharumapuram Adhinam Arts College
  4. Dharumapuram Ganambigai Govt. Womens Arts Collge
  5. A.R.C. Visvanathan Arts College,SiddarKadu.
Cinema Theaters
  1. Ratna Theater
  2. Vijaya Theater
  3. Sundaram Theater
  4. Peyarless Theater
  5. Krishna Theater
  6. Gomathi Theater
Irrigation Resources Kavery
Historical Places Tharazhundhur - Kambar Medu
Important Temples
  1. Arulmigu Sri Mayuranathar Swami Temple
  2. Arulmigu PrimalaRenganathar Swami Temple
  3. Arulmigu Dhakshinamoorthy Temple
  4. Arulmigu UdvagaNathar Temple
Important Mutts
  1. Dharumapuram Adhinam
  2. Thiruvaduthurai Adhinam
Rain Measurement Centre Taluk Office, Mayiladuthurai.
Land Tax Rs. 54,04,863.00